'Star Trek Into Darkness' IMAX Preview Photo Reveals Benedict Cumberbatch as John Harrison

The secretive villain is given a name in this franchise sequel, but it may just be an alias.

This Friday, December 14th, the first 9 minutes of Star Trek Into Darkness will debut in front of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey as a special IMAX preview. We have a photo from this upcoming footage, which features Chris Pine as James T. Kirk and Zachary Quinto as Spock. Here, we see that they've captured this sequel's main villain, played by Benedict Cumberbatch. If you're hoping that this 9-minute IMAX-only preview will reveal the identity of this Star Trek cannon bad guy, you will be disappointed. Khan's theme does play as part of the soundtrack, but the character's name is never mentioned. The caption that accompanies this photo lists Benedict Cumberbatch's character as John Harrison, which is likely just an alias, as no John Harrison exists in the Star Trek universe. There was a Red Shirt named Harrison on the original series. Could this be him? Not likely. J.J. Abrams certainly likes his mysteries, and this one is driving fans nuts.

Star Trek Into Darkness IMAX Preview Photo

Star Trek Into Darkness was released May 17th, 2013 and stars Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Zoe Saldana, Karl Urban, Simon Pegg, John Cho, Benedict Cumberbatch, Anton Yelchin. The film is directed by J.J. Abrams.


Share this story yet?

0 0 0 0 0

RELATED STORIES

BEST OF THE WEB

Comments (17)

  1. Superman81

    @Conor-Holtz Javier Bardem was a beast in Skyfall. One of the best scenes in the movie to me. But you are right, the whole I let you catch me plot is played

    2 years agoby @superman81Flag

  2. Conor Holtz

    Swear to god if it is like Dark Knight or Avengers or Sky fall where he has planned to get captured and blow up the ship from the inside I am not surprised.

    2 years agoby @Conor-HoltzFlag

  3. The_Crow2k

    This picture reminds me of 'The Avengers', 'Skyfall', 'X-Men' and 10,000 other films.

    2 years agoby @the-crow2kFlag

  4. Bawnian©-Dexeus

    Look at that! Another glass prison! How f*cking original!

    2 years agoby @bawnian-dexeusFlag

  5. Whiskeythieves

    He's Sybok, Spock's brother.

    2 years agoby @whiskeythievesFlag

  6. Josh

    John Harrison? It's clearly a Beatles reference...but what does it MEAN?!

    2 years agoby @shuabertFlag

  7. SherlockHolmes2009

    @ghostman Your theory sounds plausible but at the same time maybe alittle off, well have to wait for the trailer to see if your theories correct

    2 years agoby @SherlockHolmes2009Flag

  8. Thedarkhelmet

    There sure is a lot of speculation surrounding this movie. I personally think this is going to be an original story and that the villain is not someone we know, much like the previous movie. Sure there will be some fanfare in there like the movie scene in the trailer with the hands, but I think people are looking to hard into this. Maybe his name IS John Harrison and he isn't Khan or Gary Mitchell. Why rehash old stories. Tell new ones while keeping the spirit of Star Trek alive so it doesn't turn into Star Wars and fans will be happy.

    2 years agoby @thedarkhelmetFlag

  9. Ghostman

    @ChiRep-1 Nope. Pretty sure that is why he is seen in a containment chamber so he doesn't effect any other members of the Enterprise crew.

    2 years agoby @ghostmanFlag

  10. The Knight Has Risen

    @john-m@ROFLitschristian Yeah, I got that. I'm just pointing out how unnecessary it is in censoring his name.

    2 years agoby @thehost91Flag

  11. ChiRep_1

    Ok I get it, JJ Abrams is a huge tease and a master of secrecy blah blah blah; But that doesn't mean every. single. photo released is supposed to be extrapolated down to the hairline and shoelaces people. Sorry for ranting and this really is an awesome screenshot but reading "JJ Abrams certainly likes his mysteries, and this one is driving fans nuts." Just makes me roll my eyes.

    @ghostman Great analysis my friend, but it's just an alias......

    2 years agoby @ChiRep-1Flag

  12. Ghostman

    John Harrison: Harrison was a technician featured in many episodes as a supporting character who eventually went on to become a Lieutenant. Nothing much from his bio really seems to be in line with what we've seen or heard from C*mberbatch's character, other than perhaps the Omicron spore incident. The spores infected the crew of the Enterprise causing them to beam down to a planet where the spores thrive on a type of radiation. They gave the infected a "peace of mind," telepathic abilities and the ability to restore health -- something C*mberbatch teased in the IMAX footage. I wonder if that was the opening memorial service we saw in the trailer. Like all those "infected" had to be exterminated and Harrison (C*mberbatch) survives to exact revenge on the Starfleet Academy.

    2 years agoby @ghostmanFlag

  13. John M

    @thehost91: Think about it what do the first three letters of his last name spell?

    2 years agoby @john-mFlag

  14. ROFLitschristian

    Saweet. Can't wait. Trailer got me all kinds of excited!

    2 years agoby @ROFLitschristianFlag

  15. The Knight Has Risen

    Why is Benedict C*mberbatch's name censored in the comments?

    2 years agoby @thehost91Flag

  16. the Narrator

    C*mberbatch looks like a boss here. Great transformation of character.

    2 years agoby @narratorFlag