'The Smurfs' Critic Reviews

74%
MovieWeb:   10 reviews
23%
Rotten Tomatoes:   117 reviews
  • Teddy Durgin Screen It!
    The film doesn't quite hold the audience's interest for its entire running time. (Full Content Parental Review also available)
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Philip Martin Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
    1050
    "Look at that Smurfing hipster, in his Smurfing ironic mustache and Smurfing Peyo T-shirt."
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Widgett Walls Needcoffee.com
    20
    Keep repeating to yourself over and over: 'It gets Jonathan Winters a paycheck. It gets Jonathan Winters a paycheck.'
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Jane Stevenson Jam! Movies
    60
    I can tell you the end result is pretty cute.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Mike Scott Times-Picayune
    38
    Na-na-na-na-na-blah.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Sandie Angulo Chen Common Sense Media
    40
    Not enough bright spots in disappointing adaptation.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Rosie Fletcher Total Film
    60
    Diverting and weird, but harmless.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Gary Wolcott Tri-City Herald
    20
    I saw this one so you don't have to.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Stephen Whitty Newark Star-Ledger
    50
    That two sequels have been announced is terrifying.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Kevin McCarthy BDK Reviews
    30
    The Smurfs is uncomfortably cheesy and predictable. Kids truly deserve better films than this! The only redeeming quality was the performance from Hank Azaria.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Jody Mitori St. Louis Post-Dispatch
    50
    'The Smurfs" is a lot like the characters' theme song: sweet, repetitive and grating.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Adam Tobias Watertown Daily Times
    60
    I can't smurfin' believe I'm actually going to say this, but "The Smurfs" is not a cinematic travesty. Far from it, in fact.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Willie Waffle WaffleMovies.com
    13
    It is one of the signs of the apocalypse, so I must warn you ahead of time. The Smurfs are skateboarding and rapping in this movie.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Daniel M. Kimmel New England Movies Weekly
    20
    The Smurfs is a big heaping pile of Smurf.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Grae Drake Movies.com
    20
    When pointless movies like this come out, I can't help but wonder what these talented artists could have been doing besides earning this paycheck.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Chris Hewitt (St. Paul) St. Paul Pioneer Press
    63
    I could say this until I'm blue in the face and you still wouldn't believe me: "The Smurfs" isn't half-bad.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Jonathan W. Hickman Daily Film Fix
    40
    If you remember the characters fondly, this theatrical version will do little to enhance that memory.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Nell Minow Beliefnet
    42
    The film is raw and mean-spirited, with too many of the "Smurf" word substitutions more naughty than nice ("Who Smurfed?" "Where the Smurf are we?"). That's Smurfed up.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Jordan Hoffman UGO
    59
    I will not go so far as to call The Smurfs subversive, but it is surprisingly sophisticated.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Moira MacDonald Seattle Times
    50
    Why does the villain Gargamel have a name that sounds like a sore-throat product? Why are there countless male Smurfs and only one female? (The mind boggles.) Why do they only know one song, and why is it so irritating? So many questions.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Brett Michel Boston Phoenix
    38
    "I hated this much less than I expected," complains Grouchy near the end. Cranky (this critic) disagrees.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Ed Gonzalez Slant Magazine
    38
    Here comes The Smurfs movie to nail the coffin shut, to remind us that there's no bigger bitch in this life than nostalgia.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Walter Chaw Film Freak Central
    13
    eventually, and it's coming for all of us, you stop realizing that there's a fight to be joined.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Steve Persall St. Petersburg Times
    42
    What the smurf good is a Smurf, anyway? I mean, other than providing a made-up word like "smurf" that can sub for any smurfing thing you want to say... If this overuse of the word has gotten on your nerves, imagine reading for 85 more minutes.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Tasha Robinson AV Club
    25
    Actual kids may find this fun, but for adults, watching The Smurfs may feel a little too much like trying to wrangle an overcrowded kiddie birthday party.
    Full Review » 3 years ago