'She's Out of My League' Critic Reviews

85%
MovieWeb:   6 reviews
58%
Rotten Tomatoes:   132 reviews
  • Owen Gleiberman Entertainment Weekly (Top Critic)
    42
    [A] one-joke sub-Judd Apatow snark-athon...
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Mike Hale New York Times (Top Critic)
    30
    The premise might work if the film were content to be a fairly undistinguished example of over-the-top gross-out comedy.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Peter Bradshaw Guardian [UK] (Top Critic)
    60
    Jay Baruchel gets his shot at Hollywood leading-man status in this likable, goofy romcom. And I have to say I'd rather be watching him than the ubiquitous Shia LaBeouf.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Claudia Puig USA Today (Top Critic)
    50
    It's short on clever humor and big on convention and formula.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Michael O'Sullivan Washington Post (Top Critic)
    25
    The movie clearly aspires to rise to the smutty-but-sweet synergy of other, better films. But She's Out of My League can't touch them.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Lucy Barber Boston Globe (Top Critic)
    50
    While Baruchel is fun to root for and watch flail about like a pipe-cleaner in the wind, this movie encourages a sick desire in me - to see Michael Cera and all the runners-up in the Mr. Puniverse Contest knocked down a peg...
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Joe Neumaier New York Daily News (Top Critic)
    20
    There's barely a smirk in all of its padded hour and 45 minutes...
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Joy Tipping Dallas Morning News (Top Critic)
    90
    The movie's terrific -- it's easily my favorite film released so far this year.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • James Rocchi MSN Movies (Top Critic)
    60
    By mixing the sweetness of "Say Anything" with the silliness of "There's Something About Mary," "She's Out of My League" works as well as it does thanks to a real sense of heart and a killer ensemble.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times (Top Critic)
    75
    The movie is not a comedy classic. But in a genre where so many movies struggle to lift themselves from zero to one, it's about, oh, a six point five.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune (Top Critic)
    50
    I laughed here and there at She's Out of My League, but I sort of hated everything it had to say about nerds and babes and the sliding scale of self-image.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Cliff Doerksen Chicago Reader (Top Critic)
    Director Jim Field Smith lifts his best beats from Judd Apatow, and his worst from American Pie.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer (Top Critic)
    63
    A diverting showcase for Baruchel and Eve, who are excellent arguments for the proposition that there's more to a person than looks.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Adam Graham Detroit News (Top Critic)
    42
    She's Out of My League doesn't answer the question of whether a 10 would go for a 5, but rather if audiences are willing to settle for a 5.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Bill Goodykoontz Arizona Republic (Top Critic)
    70
    What elevates She's Out of My League -- it doesn't turn a 5 into a 10, but it helps -- is heart, of which its characters have a surprising plenty.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • John Anderson Variety (Top Critic)
    This appealingly cast movie seesaws from unlikely thoughtfulness to imbecilic vulgarity.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Kyle Smith New York Post (Top Critic)
    50
    Scenes that should be grotesquely funny (man helps another man with his intimate grooming, or the appearance of a Hall & Oates cover band) deliver only chuckles rather than a big payoff.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel (Top Critic)
    50
    No, we still don't believe them as a couple. No, there aren't many surprises here.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Peter Howell Toronto Star (Top Critic)
    75
    We may know exactly where Kirk and Molly are headed -- he can't get over his good fortune and she can't abide being put on a pedestal -- but the movie keeps upending our expectations and provoking laughs.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Laremy Legel Film.com (Top Critic)
    67
    The movie also does well to let the supporting characters carry the comedic load.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Rick Groen Globe and Mail (Top Critic)
    75
    There are compensations, in Baruchel's performance and in Eve's too (now that's an ingenue's name).
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • James Berardinelli ReelViews (Top Critic)
    75
    I'll say this: it's neither a "5" nor a "10," but somewhere in between.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Frank Scheck Hollywood Reporter (Top Critic)
    She's Out of My League is that rare modern screen comedy that is better than the trailers make it appear.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Peter Travers Rolling Stone (Top Critic)
    63
    She's Out of My League is a rowdy blast because the spiky young cast treats the played-out script like virgin territory. That's acting!
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Betsy Sharkey Los Angeles Times (Top Critic)
    80
    Nothing would work, though, without the appealing Baruchel.
    Full Review » 5 years ago