'Reign Over Me' Critic Reviews

97%
MovieWeb:   10 reviews
63%
Rotten Tomatoes:   151 reviews
  • Lisa Schwarzbaum Entertainment Weekly (Top Critic)
    59
    A strange, black-and-blue therapeutic drama equally mottled with likable good intentions and agitating clumsiness.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • A.O. Scott New York Times (Top Critic)
    50
    Reign Over Me uses the rhythms and moods of comedy to explore, and also to contain, overpowering feelings of loss.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Andrew Pulver Guardian [UK] (Top Critic)
    40
    Without Sandler, Reign Over Me would be a gloopy, post-9/11 love-in, making cavalier use of a fine but helpless cast.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Claudia Puig USA Today (Top Critic)
    75
    This is not a simple, uplifting tale. It's never clear whether Charlie will fully recover, and that sense of realism is the film's strength.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Ann Hornaday Washington Post (Top Critic)
    Binder has set a difficult bar -- to make a funny, sad, original movie about the healing power of not necessarily healing -- and he just manages to clear it.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Ty Burr Boston Globe (Top Critic)
    63
    Reign Over Me quietly says that we're our problem friends' keepers. At its worst, the movie is a problem friend.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Jack Mathews New York Daily News (Top Critic)
    100
    Cheadle is good, as always, but Sandler's portrayal of a guy on the perennial brink of a psychotic breakdown is amazing.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal (Top Critic)
    This is not a simple picture. It's serious, disarmingly funny at times and certainly ambitious, yet diminished by some of the traits that have made the standard Sandler characters so popular.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Amy Biancolli Houston Chronicle (Top Critic)
    75
    It's a tough ride, but worth it.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Lisa Kennedy Denver Post (Top Critic)
    75
    A sentimental journey of solitude and friendship.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • David Edelstein New York Magazine (Top Critic)
    The film is slick when it needs to be raw, tidy when it needs to sprawl, and amorphous when it needs to focus.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Anthony Lane New Yorker (Top Critic)
    Reign Over Me closes with, at best, a cautious hope, leaving us more anxious than when we went in, and throughout the film there is a stunned and bewildered air hanging over the city, like a heavy smog.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Richard Roeper Chicago Sun-Times (Top Critic)
    50
    When Reign Over Me misfires, it careens out of control.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Michael Wilmington Chicago Tribune (Top Critic)
    75
    It's better than you'd expect but not as good as you'd like it to be.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • J. R. Jones Chicago Reader (Top Critic)
    The story begins to creak badly in the last act, but both Cheadle and Sandler are funny and poignant throughout.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer (Top Critic)
    75
    Reign is a triumph for Cheadle and Sandler, whose performances strew the seeds of regeneration.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Colin Covert Minneapolis Star Tribune (Top Critic)
    88
    There's no quick label for the kind of assured, humane films that writer-director Mike Binder makes.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Bill Muller Arizona Republic (Top Critic)
    80
    Although all the talk is about Sandler's performance, Cheadle's is every bit as good. He has a much tougher job, playing straight man to Sandler's semicraziness.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Joe Leydon Variety (Top Critic)
    Adam Sandler and Don Cheadle head a strong cast in this affecting drama of friendship and regeneration.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Lou Lumenick New York Post (Top Critic)
    50
    Mike Binder's oddball film keeps retreating into fantasy -- as if to avoid precisely the kind of issues that have kept the studios from confronting the legacy of 9/11.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel (Top Critic)
    80
    It was a smart move, pulling Reign Over Me from last fall's release schedule. Perhaps the world just isn't ready for an Adam Sandler Oscar nomination.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Geoff Pevere Toronto Star (Top Critic)
    75
    At the very least, it puts a whole new spin on Billy Madison.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Rick Groen Globe and Mail (Top Critic)
    50
    Reign Over Me drizzles down on us for two full hours, persistently determined to prove that, if it hangs around long enough, a coherent movie will turn up. No such luck.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Stephanie Zacharek Salon.com (Top Critic)
    Reign Over Me is a very gentle picture, intended to soothe us, not to jolt or shock us. But it's so gentle that it lacks any discernible energy.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • James Berardinelli ReelViews (Top Critic)
    50
    Reign Over Me has the best of intentions but, despite its desire to show how the perseverance of a good man can produce profound results, its bungles the attempt.
    Full Review » 8 years ago