'Prometheus' Critic Reviews

90%
MovieWeb:   29 reviews
74%
Rotten Tomatoes:   265 reviews
  • Leonard Maltin indieWIRE (Top Critic)
    While I was completely engrossed in 'Prometheus', I felt a tug-of-war going on between the cerebral and visceral elements, right up to the finale.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Eric Kohn indieWIRE (Top Critic)
    Like "Alien," the new movie derives its appeal not only from stunning, otherworldly imagery but also from the central performances tasked with reacting to it.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Rick Groen Globe and Mail (Top Critic)
    75
    There's definite mastery here, but it's hardly a masterpiece.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Andrew O'Hehir Salon.com (Top Critic)
    "Prometheus" damn near lives up to the unsustainable hype, at least at the level of cinematography, production design, special effects and pure wow factor.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Dana Stevens Slate (Top Critic)
    Prometheus is more interested in piling on big questions than in answering them. It's deep without being particularly smart, although the dazzling design and special effects keep you from noticing that basic flaw until at least an hour in.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • James Berardinelli ReelViews (Top Critic)
    75
    Prometheus is a prequel that works as a stand-alone but offers added benefits to those familiar with the Alien series.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Todd McCarthy Hollywood Reporter (Top Critic)
    It does supply enough visual spectacle, tense action and sticky, slithery monster attacks to hit the spot with thrill-seeking audiences worldwide.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Christy Lemire Associated Press (Top Critic)
    75
    The paranoia becomes palpable, and a lot of its impact comes from how dramatic and dazzlingly seamless the special effects are.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Richard Corliss TIME Magazine (Top Critic)
    I saw Prometheus without my trusty guide-wife next to me to describe the creepy stuff yet watched every second of the movie. And not once did I jump out of my skin.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Peter Travers Rolling Stone (Top Critic)
    75
    The ending isn't squishy scary or deeply satisfying. Bummer. Otherwise, Prometheus kicks ass so hard and often that it's impossible not to be thrilled by it.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Richard Roeper Richard Roeper.com (Top Critic)
    100
    Brilliant. Epic. Haunting. Grotesque. Great.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Sam Adams Los Angeles Times (Top Critic)
    75
    Unlike any of the sequels between it and the original, Prometheus is a horror movie first and foremost, gnawing at subconscious terrors even as your conscious mind attempts to bat it away.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Kenneth Turan Los Angeles Times (Top Critic)
    60
    Making up for the expected nature of some of the film's plot twists is Arthur Max's spooky, H.R. Giger-influenced production design, Dariusz Wolski's fluid cinematography, as well as Scott's moment-to-moment storytelling skill.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Tim Grierson Deadspin
    Rather than trying to reinvent the franchise with new tricks, "Prometheus" wants to return us to that uncertain terror that loomed over the 1979 original.
    Full Review » 1 year ago
  • Ali Gray TheShiznit.co.uk
    60
    The mishmash of grotesque body-horror and chin-stroking existentialism does not always make for the most coherent movie, but it is at least an entertaining one and certainly no black mark on the franchise.
    Full Review » 1 year ago
  • Jason Gorber Twitch
    34
    Prometheus, as both a response to Alien and its own attempts at philosophical and spiritual investigations, ended up filling in holes that simply were not mandatory to have filled.
    Full Review » 1 year ago
  • Rob Gonsalves eFilmCritic.com
    60
    The movie wasn't giving my brain much of a workout, but my eyes got a nice buzz. Prometheus is straight-up gorgeous...
    Full Review » 1 year ago
  • Rob Humanick Projection Booth
    63
    Insulting lip service to 2001 notwithstanding, Prometheus shocks and awes with more than sufficient technical bravura. If only it was as smart as it clearly thinks it is.
    Full Review » 1 year ago
  • James Plath Movie Metropolis
    80
    Artfully designed with special effects that border on the elegant-there's no other way to put it-"Prometheus" is a visual delight.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Brian Holcomb CinemaBlend.com
    60
    There's a lot of college dorm philosophical mumbo jumbo on top but it all really boils down to, "Man seeks his creator/makes contact/discovers he is a total jerk."
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Patrick Kolan Shotgun Critic
    80
    Never quite matching Alien or Aliens for emotional authenticity - but definitely holding you in tow until the final moments. Ridley Scott isn't much for illustrating humanity, but he sure as hell knows how to craft aliens.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Adam Ross The Aristocrat
    100
    Very few films can create a genuine sense of wonder and discovery, and Prometheus manages it for its entire 124 minute running time ... almost entirely a sensory experience.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Ben Kendrick ScreenRant
    90
    Prometheus is a welcome return to form for Ridley Scott -- delivering a fascinating sci-fi storyline, gorgeous 3D visuals, and competent filmmaking choices.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Will Chadwick We Got This Covered
    90
    It isn't perfect, but Prometheus is a thoroughly entertaining summer blockbuster that is a cut above the rest due to an amazing cast and Ridley Scott, who re-establishes himself as one of our greatest world building filmmakers.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Jeff Beck Examiner.com
    63
    The film [has] a kind of "been there, done that" feeling.
    Full Review » 2 years ago