'No Country for Old Men' Critic Reviews

95%
MovieWeb:   50 reviews
94%
Rotten Tomatoes:   235 reviews
  • Lisa Schwarzbaum Entertainment Weekly (Top Critic)
    84
    This measured yet excitingly tense, violent yet maturely sorrowful thriller marks the first time the filmmakers have faithfully adapted somebody else's work to their own specifications and considerable strengths.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • A.O. Scott New York Times (Top Critic)
    90
    For formalists -- those moviegoers sent into raptures by tight editing, nimble camera work and faultless sound design -- No Country for Old Men is pure heaven.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Peter Bradshaw Guardian [UK] (Top Critic)
    100
    Watching this film has something of the elemental thrill of watching a cloud-shadow spread with miraculous speed over a vast, empty landscape: it has a chilly, portentous intuition of what America is.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Claudia Puig USA Today (Top Critic)
    88
    Joel and Ethan Coen have directed their best film since Fargo more than a decade ago.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Stephen Hunter Washington Post (Top Critic)
    I just don't like it very much.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Ty Burr Boston Globe (Top Critic)
    100
    The Coens understand the stark immediacy of this tale, and they visualize it with brilliantly judged details.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Scott Foundas Village Voice (Top Critic)
    A stark modern-day Western featuring Javier Bardem as the creepiest movie psycho this side of Anthony Hopkins in The Silence of the Lambs.
    Full Review » 7 years ago
  • Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News (Top Critic)
    100
    The most searing film I've seen this year.
    Full Review » 7 years ago
  • Wall Street Journal (Top Critic)
    This is the best film the Coen brothers have done since their glory days of Fargo and The Big Lebowski, maybe the best they've done, period.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal (Top Critic)
    This is the best film the Coen brothers have done since their glory days of Fargo and The Big Lebowski, maybe the best they've done, period.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Amy Biancolli Houston Chronicle (Top Critic)
    100
    [It] just might be the Coen brothers' singular mythic masterwork.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Chris Vognar Dallas Morning News (Top Critic)
    67
    The Coens are geniuses at creating tension through editing. No Country has craft and atmosphere aplenty.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Lisa Kennedy Denver Post (Top Critic)
    100
    This movie is that stunning.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • David Edelstein New York Magazine (Top Critic)
    Here's the gist: It's a near masterpiece.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Anthony Lane New Yorker (Top Critic)
    If I want wry lawmen and smart, calculating fugitives, I'll get them from Elmore Leonard; and, if I want Leonard, I'll take him neat, rather than slow-filtered, drop by drop, through a layer of Faulkner, then laced with the Book of Jeremiah.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times (Top Critic)
    100
    No Country for Old Men is as good a film as the Coen brothers, Joel and Ethan, have ever made, and they made Fargo.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune (Top Critic)
    88
    As pure craftsmanship, No Country for Old Men is as good as we've ever gotten from Joel and Ethan Coen.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Jonathan Rosenbaum Chicago Reader (Top Critic)
    25
    The storytelling is fluid, especially when directors Joel and Ethan Coen start eliding some of the murders and ask us to imagine them for ourselves.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer (Top Critic)
    88
    An eerily quiet, bracingly bloody, and expertly laid-out adaptation of the Cormac McCarthy novel.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Colin Covert Minneapolis Star Tribune (Top Critic)
    100
    The film is as lean and mean as a barbed-wire necktie, darkly funny and much deeper than the average crime thriller.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Tom Long Detroit News (Top Critic)
    92
    A cold, rough look at the dissolution of just about everything. It will bother you afterward. It should.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Randy Cordova Arizona Republic (Top Critic)
    90
    Bardem's unnerving performance is the one that will stay with you.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Rex Reed New York Observer (Top Critic)
    The ending is so lame it made me feverish. Then I remembered the perfection that came before it, and concluded that this is, without question, the best movie ever made by the eccentric Coen brothers.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Andrew Sarris New York Observer (Top Critic)
    I may be clearly in the minority on this movie. It will almost certainly be number one on my list of movies that other people liked and I didn't.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Todd McCarthy Variety (Top Critic)
    A scorching blast of tense genre filmmaking shot through with rich veins of melancholy, down-home philosophy and dark, dark humor.
    Full Review » 7 years ago