'Marley & Me' Critic Reviews

90%
MovieWeb:   8 reviews
64%
Rotten Tomatoes:   137 reviews
  • Owen Gleiberman Entertainment Weekly (Top Critic)
    84
    A disarmingly enjoyable, wholehearted comic vision of the happy messiness of family life.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Stephen Holden New York Times (Top Critic)
    40
    At the end of Marley & Me you don't leave the theater with a sense that anything much has been learned, only that a fixture in the Grogans' comfortable suburban lives has been removed.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Peter Bradshaw Guardian [UK] (Top Critic)
    20
    In the cinema, all of us tough, cynical critics had tears welling in our eyes, swallowing hard; our lips, so often curled in a cheap sneer, were now trembling, because of the same desperately sad thought: "Owen Wilson used to be really good..."
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Claudia Puig USA Today (Top Critic)
    50
    Marley's misadventures play like a TV movie, never reaching the heights of such endearing canine-centered films as 2000's My Dog Skip.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Philip Kennicott Washington Post (Top Critic)
    Not every book has a movie lurking in it.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Wesley Morris Boston Globe (Top Critic)
    63
    The movie never captures the crucial leap that made the book a hit. It's never Marley & Us.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Jim Ridley Village Voice (Top Critic)
    Marley & Me proves how lifeless Lady and the Tramp would have been if told from the p.o.v. of Jim Dear and Darling.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Joe Neumaier New York Daily News (Top Critic)
    40
    If characters talking to dogs and dog reaction shots are some of your favorite things, add some stars to this review.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal (Top Critic)
    The production manages, against heavy odds, to make its canine star an incorrigible bore. The problem is bad parenting.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Joy Tipping Dallas Morning News (Top Critic)
    75
    Marley, of course, steals every scene he's in, which is most of them.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Lisa Kennedy Denver Post (Top Critic)
    100
    Marley & Me turns out to be the best -- and truest -- film about humans and our animals to arrive onscreen in a dog's age.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times (Top Critic)
    75
    When Marley is not on the screen, Wilson and Aniston demonstrate why they are gifted comic actors. They have a relationship that's not too sitcomish, not too sentimental, mostly smart and realistic.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Jessica Reaves Chicago Tribune (Top Critic)
    75
    The book, like the movie it inspired, is a sweet, surprisingly moving chronicle of a young couple's struggle to simultaneously build a family, advance their careers and maintain their sanity.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Andrea Gronvall Chicago Reader (Top Critic)
    Doesn't consistently capture the book's personable tone.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer (Top Critic)
    75
    Marley boasts animal magnetism.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Colin Covert Minneapolis Star Tribune (Top Critic)
    75
    David Frankel adapts John Grogan's sentimental bestseller with no artistic pretensions beyond alternately making you feel like your heart is caving in, then injecting you with a gigantic syringe of good cheer.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Tom Long Detroit News (Top Critic)
    84
    Marley & Me is everything you could want in a holiday movie -- family friendly, touching, funny. Plus, it's surprisingly intelligent and real. It may be the best family film of the year.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Bill Goodykoontz Arizona Republic (Top Critic)
    40
    Need a shortcut to manipulate an audience's emotions? Always go with the dog.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Todd McCarthy Variety (Top Critic)
    This perky, episodic film is as broad and obvious as it could be, but delivers on its own terms thanks to sparky chemistry between its sunny blond stars, Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston, and the unabashed emotion-milking of the final reel.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Kyle Smith New York Post (Top Critic)
    38
    I said to Lady, "It's a labra-bore"/She said, "Scout, you overpraise."
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel (Top Critic)
    40
    The book has been known to make grown men weep. But seeing the movie, you can't help but feel had.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Peter Howell Toronto Star (Top Critic)
    75
    You should bring lots of Kleenex with you. It might just come in handy.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Rick Groen Globe and Mail (Top Critic)
    75
    A dog movie that isn't a dog of a movie -- what a pleasant Christmas surprise.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Stephanie Zacharek Salon.com (Top Critic)
    The movie is ultimately less about the pain of loss than about the way families often take shape around a pet.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • James Berardinelli ReelViews (Top Critic)
    75
    Want to see a grown man cry? Take him to Marley & Me.
    Full Review » 5 years ago