'I, Robot' Critic Reviews

93%
MovieWeb:   3 reviews
58%
Rotten Tomatoes:   203 reviews
  • Owen Gleiberman Entertainment Weekly (Top Critic)
    59
    A routine Will Smith cop-on- the-hunt thriller at heart, I, Robot lacks imaginative excitement.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • A.O. Scott New York Times (Top Critic)
    60
    'Suggested by' Isaac Asimov's book of short stories, Alex Proyas's hectic thriller engages some interesting ideas on its way to an overblown and incoherent ending.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Claudia Puig USA Today (Top Critic)
    50
    Performances, plot and pacing are as mechanical as the hard-wired cast.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Desson Thomson Washington Post (Top Critic)
    For the most part, this is thrilling fun.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Ann Hornaday Washington Post (Top Critic)
    Succeed on its own terms as an entertaining mid-season popcorn movie.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Ty Burr Boston Globe (Top Critic)
    50
    The sort of multiplex-buster that depends more on editing and production design than on story line.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Michael Atkinson Village Voice (Top Critic)
    Rather than a thoughtful adaptation of a venerated piece of sci-fi lit, we get a dumbed-down litany of deliberate cliches and digital white noise.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Jami Bernard New York Daily News (Top Critic)
    88
    I, Robot is fun, even when it relies a bit too much on standard police-procedure cliches.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Eric Harrison Houston Chronicle (Top Critic)
    50
    Plays like a compendium of summer blockbusters.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Philip Wuntch Dallas Morning News (Top Critic)
    50
    I, Robot is yet another summer entree in which good intentions are stymied by excessive bric-a-brac.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Lisa Kennedy Denver Post (Top Critic)
    75
    An engaging CGI-fueled ride.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times (Top Critic)
    50
    The plot is simple-minded and disappointing, and the chase and action scenes are pretty much routine for movies in the sci-fi CGI genre.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Michael Wilmington Chicago Tribune (Top Critic)
    75
    A high-tech thriller that really works -- both because of its eye-popping visual feats and the ideas and humanity behind them.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer (Top Critic)
    75
    I, Robot is less compelling as a drama of the human enslavement of androids than it is an intriguing vision of a treeless, cashless future.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Colin Covert Minneapolis Star Tribune (Top Critic)
    75
    While it's not in a league with Blade Runner, The Terminator or even Robocop, I, Robot is an efficiently designed, well-oiled machine.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Tom Long Detroit News (Top Critic)
    50
    Will Smith fans will likely be disappointed, and lovers of fine cinema best look elsewhere. But if you're looking for robots going crazy, this one's worth your money.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Bill Muller Arizona Republic (Top Critic)
    60
    Those who are unfamiliar with Asimov's work may enjoy I, Robot as a summer popcorn movie. It's just unfortunate that it's not more.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Rex Reed New York Observer (Top Critic)
    For all its flaws, I, Robot is arresting to look at.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Todd McCarthy Variety (Top Critic)
    A failure of imagination.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Lou Lumenick New York Post (Top Critic)
    75
    Surprisingly smart, cool-looking, nicely paced and well-acted.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel (Top Critic)
    60
    A middling entertainment.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Geoff Pevere Toronto Star (Top Critic)
    20
    A CGI-laced action movie cum merchandising opportunity, warped into insensate silliness by the pop-iconic demands of Smith's megabucks macho action-hero persona and peppered with stock cop-on-the- edge action-movie situations.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Rick Groen Globe and Mail (Top Critic)
    63
    A movie of its kind and of its time -- functional, professional, slickly manufactured and slouching toward consciousness -- I, Robot is a perfect slave to mechanical convention.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • Stephanie Zacharek Salon.com (Top Critic)
    Strives to be so many things that it ultimately falls away to nothing, a heap of expensive metal parts.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
  • David Edelstein Slate (Top Critic)
    Ring-a-ding dull.
    Full Review » 10 years ago
AVG. RATING 3.9 GREAT
Rate This
!
80 people have rated I, Robot
  • 5 Star:
    9
    12%
  • 42
    53%
  • 3 Star:
    23
    29%
  • 2 Star:
    4
    5%
  • 1 Star:
    2
    3%
  • 0 Star:
    0%
  • User Lists92
  • Comments2
More Movies Like
I, Robot
I Am Legend Men In Black Ghost Rider Cloverfield Hancock Transformers