'I Love You, Man' Critic Reviews

91%
MovieWeb:   10 reviews
84%
Rotten Tomatoes:   198 reviews
  • Julian Roman MovieWeb (Top Critic)
    80
    The bro-mance is in full bloom!
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Owen Gleiberman Entertainment Weekly (Top Critic)
    92
    Paul Rudd gives a startlingly funny and original performance as a nice guy with serious dweebish tendencies, and the delight of what Rudd does here comes down to how exquisitely embarrassing he is to watch.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Manohla Dargis New York Times (Top Critic)
    60
    A fitfully funny comedy that owes much to Judd Apatow.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Peter Bradshaw Guardian [UK] (Top Critic)
    40
    There are one or two decent lines, but after the initial setup, things flag and all I felt like confessing was my feelings of manly indifference to the pair of them.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Claudia Puig USA Today (Top Critic)
    75
    I Love You, Man's light-hearted exploration of male bonding provides substantial fodder for humor, heightened by the inspired casting of two of the industry's most appealing comic actors.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Ann Hornaday Washington Post (Top Critic)
    It's a thin premise, and I Love You, Man features the usual quota of jokes involving masturbation, projectile vomiting and flatulence. But is it worth it? Thanks to Rudd and Segel (and some terrific cameos), totes magotes.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Ty Burr Boston Globe (Top Critic)
    75
    It's a bromance that's out and proud. In the liberation are the laughs, and they stick to your ribs longer than you'd think.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Robert Wilonsky Village Voice (Top Critic)
    Just as we thought the "bromantic comedy" had overstayed its welcome, the genre reaches its highest point with I Love You, Man.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News (Top Critic)
    70
    Writer/director John Hamburg smartly tweaks Hollywood formulas while following them to the letter, and it's the way everybody plays things perfectly straight (so to speak) that makes ILYM so much fun.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Amy Biancolli Houston Chronicle (Top Critic)
    88
    In almost every major detail and minor plot hiccup, the sweet, vulgar, hilariously awkward I Love You, Man follows Ye Olde Formulae for standard romantic comedies.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Christopher Kelly Dallas Morning News (Top Critic)
    59
    I Love You, Man feels like a clever concept in search of a completely developed movie.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Lisa Kennedy Denver Post (Top Critic)
    88
    As sweet as it is tart.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • David Edelstein New York Magazine (Top Critic)
    I Love You, Man is totally formulaic, but the formula is unnervingly (and hilariously) inside out.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times (Top Critic)
    88
    It's funny with some dumb physical humor, yes, and some gross-out jokes apparently necessary to all buddy movies, but also funny in observations, dialogue, physical behavior and Sydney Fife's observations as a people-watcher.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune (Top Critic)
    75
    The movie is The Odd Couple with a looser vibe and more oral sex references.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • J. R. Jones Chicago Reader (Top Critic)
    Its wit and ingenuous characters prove how far the bar's been raised.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer (Top Critic)
    88
    Among those buddy films lately called 'bromances,' ILYM is both the best friend and best man.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Colin Covert Minneapolis Star Tribune (Top Critic)
    38
    It never settles into a comfortable comic groove, but maybe discomfort is the point.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Adam Graham Detroit News (Top Critic)
    75
    I Love You, Man is a success; it's Fight Club with hugs, not fists.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Bill Goodykoontz Arizona Republic (Top Critic)
    70
    It's just a well-made, ribald comedy by people who are really good at this kind of thing.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Todd McCarthy Variety (Top Critic)
    Pic never surmounts a deeply lame central premise that makes most of the action seem fraudulent and thoroughly unnecessary.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Kyle Smith New York Post (Top Critic)
    50
    I Love You, Man, which is like listening to a 105-minute conversation be tween Ross and Joey on Friends, looks like it might be a Judd Apatow movie in the same way Brett Favre, in a Jets uniform, looked like he might still know how to play quarterback.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel (Top Critic)
    80
    Unlike Apatow opuses, Hamburg knows not to overstay his welcome. I Love You, Man is a the biff-bam/thank-you-man of "boys need boyfriends" comedies.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Peter Howell Toronto Star (Top Critic)
    75
    It's a one-joke pony, but director John Hamburg and his screenwriters manage to stretch it to nearly two hours of hilarity and quasi-profundity.
    Full Review » 6 years ago
  • Liam Lacey Globe and Mail (Top Critic)
    75
    The comedy I Love You, Man marks the overdue emergence of Paul Rudd as a star.
    Full Review » 6 years ago