'Despicable Me' Critic Reviews

85%
MovieWeb:   18 reviews
81%
Rotten Tomatoes:   196 reviews
  • Lisa Schwarzbaum Entertainment Weekly (Top Critic)
    84
    Lo, another 3-D animated kid movie demonstrates that cartoon storytelling pitched to young people is the last, best refuge of sprightly filmmaking this hard, hot summer.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • A.O. Scott New York Times (Top Critic)
    40
    So much is going on in this movie that, while there's nothing worth despising, there's not much to remember either.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Peter Bradshaw Guardian [UK] (Top Critic)
    60
    It is a perfectly agreeable family entertainment, but not exactly original and nowhere near Pixar's great creations.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Claudia Puig USA Today (Top Critic)
    75
    A whip-smart family movie that makes inventive use of the summer's ubiquitous 3-D technology is something worth cheering.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Ann Hornaday Washington Post (Top Critic)
    75
    An improbably heartwarming, not to mention visually delightful, diversion.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Ty Burr Boston Globe (Top Critic)
    75
    Despicable Me has enough visual novelty and high spirits to keep the kiddies diverted and just enough wit to placate the parents.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Robert Wilonsky Village Voice (Top Critic)
    The result is pleasant and diverting, if ultimately forgettable, and it's one of the rare instances in the recent history of 3-D's resurrection as The Savior of Cinema in which the technology doesn't dim the screen or distract the focus.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News (Top Critic)
    60
    Right now, any excuse for air conditioning will do. So it's a happy bonus to find that Despicable Me is more than just a heat-busting baby-sitter.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal (Top Critic)
    It looks so stylish that thinking about its plot is strictly optional.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Chris Vognar Dallas Morning News (Top Critic)
    90
    There's a fine line between gleeful anarchy and wasted energy, and Despicable Me has a wonderful knack for staking out its spot and staying on the right side.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Mary F. Pols MSN Movies (Top Critic)
    80
    The movie finishes strong, managing to be sweet without being saccharine. It's no Toy Story 3, but Despicable Me is a solid alternative.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times (Top Critic)
    75
    The film is funny, energetic, teeth-gnashingly venomous and animated with an eye to exploiting the 3-D process with such sure-fire techniques as a visit to an amusement park.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune (Top Critic)
    63
    By taking the "heart" part just seriously enough, and in the nick of time, the movie saves itself from itself.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Cliff Doerksen Chicago Reader (Top Critic)
    Like the best kids' entertainment, this creates a daffy little world all its own.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer (Top Critic)
    63
    Short, sweet-and-sour, and amusing rather than funny, Despicable Me can't help but be likable.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Colin Covert Minneapolis Star Tribune (Top Critic)
    63
    You'll probably leave the theater smiling, but don't expect to be emotionally engaged, Pixar-style. You'll be tickled, not touched.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Tom Long Detroit News (Top Critic)
    67
    The result is a sweet and witty bit of animated fun with both eye-popping 3-D effects and a warm heart.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Bill Goodykoontz Arizona Republic (Top Critic)
    70
    Neither as rich in story nor stunning in animation as Pixar offerings, Despicable Me instead settles for simply being goofy good fun, and it hardly seems like settling at all.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Peter Debruge Variety (Top Critic)
    Since villains so often steal the show in animation, Despicable Me smartly turns the whole operation over to megalomaniacal rogue Gru.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Kyle Smith New York Post (Top Critic)
    75
    Despicable Me may not be the most sophisticated kids movie ever, but it stacks up against recent animated fare like How To Train Your Dragon the way The New York Review of Books compares to USA Today.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel (Top Critic)
    75
    Despicable Me is a 3D cartoon comedy of whiplash-quick laughs, funny punch lines and a wickedly gimmicky appreciation for 3D.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Jason Anderson Toronto Star (Top Critic)
    75
    What may be the summer's wittiest kids' flick.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Laremy Legel Film.com (Top Critic)
    84
    Despicable Me is darned cute. I know cute isn't to the lofty level of "message storytelling" but it can be entertaining to watch when done correctly.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • Rick Groen Globe and Mail (Top Critic)
    100
    This animated thing pretty near out-Pixars Pixar.
    Full Review » 4 years ago
  • James Berardinelli ReelViews (Top Critic)
    75
    This is a smartly written comedy with a soft emotional core.
    Full Review » 4 years ago