'Battleship' Critic Reviews

73%
MovieWeb:   14 reviews
34%
Rotten Tomatoes:   211 reviews
  • Joshua Tyler Giant Freakin Robot
    50
    It's everything that's wrong with modern science fiction and also a lot of fun.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Gary Wolcott Tri-City Herald
    70
    Battleship may be based on the popular Hasbro game, but it's more like Transformers. Only Battleship can claim a better plot. But "better" is always a relative term.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Todd Jorgenson Cinemalogue.com
    While it provides some stimulation for the eyes and ears, the brain gets the shaft.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Brian Juergens AfterElton.com
    70
    A deafening, seizure-inducing, patently ridiculous full-length military ad co-directed by Michael Bay and a trash compactor. Worst of all, it's also a hell of a lot of fun.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Peter Rainer Christian Science Monitor
    25
    If the movie is anything like the game, I say stay at home and read a good book (or graphic novel). Or listen to an audiobook - In short, do anything else.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Grae Drake Movies.com
    50
    If you have endless patience, this film will deliver. In fact, everyone who sat through it deserves a silver star.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Mike McGranaghan Aisle Seat
    63
    Battleship is ultimately too derivative for my taste. I'd be lying if I said I didn't have a tiny bit of fun with it, though.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Clint O'Connor Cleveland Plain Dealer
    34
    Battleship blues: Where is Michael Bay when we need him?
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Bob Mondello NPR
    Well, it has aliens, for one thing.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Rebecca Murray About.com
    17
    ...for some unknown reason Battleship tries to play like a romantic comedy - complete with a meet cute - for the first 1/3 of its overly long running time.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Jim Judy Screen It!
    Just make sure you go in with low expectations of anything resembling art and you might find yourself having fun while being yanked along on this over-the-top and dumb joy ride. (Full Content Parental Review also available)
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • James O'Ehley Sci-Fi Movie Page
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Mike Russell Oregonian
    25
    There's almost nothing to "Battleship" beyond its grindingly dull, digitally rendered naval warfare; the flick could easily be retitled "Flying Ordinance and Forgettable Stars: The Motion Picture."
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Tim Grierson Gawker
    Most summer blockbusters are lumbering, exhausting exercises in endless payload delivery. "Battleship" is that rare $200 million movie with a twinkle in its eye.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Ann Lewinson Boston Phoenix
    38
    You can't help but wonder what Hasbro will do with Candy Land.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Alonso Duralde The Wrap
    I was never bored. And that, sadly, makes it better than most of the other expensive and over-hyped films of its ilk.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Adam Fendelman HollywoodChicago.com
    80
    Despite the blockbuster mistake of allowing Rihanna to make her big-screen debut, "Battleship" succeeds where it absolutely must: It's one of the best, most entertaining popcorn flicks ever.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Stephen Whitty Newark Star-Ledger
    50
    As big, dumb summer movies go ... this is just another big, dumb summer movie. And one that makes you feel slightly dumber for having watched it.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle
    25
    It's loud, it's large, it's stupid, and its best gag involves a chicken burrito.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Frank Swietek One Guy's Opinion
    17
    An unholy mash-up of 'Pearl Harbor' and 'Transformers'...if Berg doesn't match [Bay] in bombast and stupidity, it's not for lack of trying.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Soren Anderson Seattle Times
    50
    Turn off your brain and enjoy. But don't forget to cover your ears.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Jason Zingale Bullz-Eye.com
    60
    Battleship knows that it's big, dumb summer fun, and it doesn't pretend to be anything more.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Scott A. Mantz Access Hollywood
    60
    A shamelessly corny, ridiculous, silly, cheesy and utterly preposterous big budget Hollywood spectacle, and I'll be damned if I didn't enjoy the hell out of it.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Rafer Guzman Newsday
    25
    "Battleship" employs the same nonintelligent strategy as the Hasbro board game: Fire blindly at broad targets and wait for explosions.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Austin Kennedy Sin Magazine
    63
    I didn't come to a movie called BATTLESHIP to see a bunch of crap that I could've watched on 90210. I want to see explosions and aliens and what-not!
    Full Review » 3 years ago
AVG. RATING 3.5 GREAT
Rate This
!
108 people have rated Battleship
  • User Lists260
  • Comments41
More Movies Like
Battleship
Men in Black 3 Snow White and the Huntsman 1911 The Hunger Games The Expendables 2 The Bourne Legacy