'Battleship' Critic Reviews

73%
MovieWeb:   14 reviews
34%
Rotten Tomatoes:   211 reviews
  • Grae Drake Movies.com
    50
    If you have endless patience, this film will deliver. In fact, everyone who sat through it deserves a silver star.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Mike McGranaghan Aisle Seat
    63
    Battleship is ultimately too derivative for my taste. I'd be lying if I said I didn't have a tiny bit of fun with it, though.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Clint O'Connor Cleveland Plain Dealer
    34
    Battleship blues: Where is Michael Bay when we need him?
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Bill Gibron PopMatters
    40
    Battleship is bollocks. Oddly enough, it makes no apologies for being so stupid.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Mike Scott Times-Picayune
    60
    Big, loud, dumb -- and fun.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • John Wirt Advocate (Baton Rouge, LA)
    63
    It's big, loud, dumb and sloppy but, despite it all, the thing entertains on some primal level.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle
    30
    I'm all for big, mindless, summer movie fun, but Battleship is so poorly written the dialogue alone could defeat the alien hordes if only they spoke English.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • John Beifuss Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
    50
    A forgiving viewer may wonder if there's method in its moronity: Creedence Clearwater Revival's anti-war classic 'Fortunate Son' blares over the end credits, as if in veiled insult to audience members who cheered the movie's Hollywoodized warmongering.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Adam Fendelman HollywoodChicago.com
    80
    Despite the blockbuster mistake of allowing Rihanna to make her big-screen debut, "Battleship" succeeds where it absolutely must: It's one of the best, most entertaining popcorn flicks ever.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Tim Grierson Gawker
    Most summer blockbusters are lumbering, exhausting exercises in endless payload delivery. "Battleship" is that rare $200 million movie with a twinkle in its eye.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Ann Lewinson Boston Phoenix
    38
    You can't help but wonder what Hasbro will do with Candy Land.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Alonso Duralde The Wrap
    I was never bored. And that, sadly, makes it better than most of the other expensive and over-hyped films of its ilk.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Stephen Whitty Newark Star-Ledger
    50
    As big, dumb summer movies go ... this is just another big, dumb summer movie. And one that makes you feel slightly dumber for having watched it.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle
    25
    It's loud, it's large, it's stupid, and its best gag involves a chicken burrito.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Jason Zingale Bullz-Eye.com
    60
    Battleship knows that it's big, dumb summer fun, and it doesn't pretend to be anything more.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Scott A. Mantz Access Hollywood
    60
    A shamelessly corny, ridiculous, silly, cheesy and utterly preposterous big budget Hollywood spectacle, and I'll be damned if I didn't enjoy the hell out of it.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Frank Swietek One Guy's Opinion
    17
    An unholy mash-up of 'Pearl Harbor' and 'Transformers'...if Berg doesn't match [Bay] in bombast and stupidity, it's not for lack of trying.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Soren Anderson Seattle Times
    50
    Turn off your brain and enjoy. But don't forget to cover your ears.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Rafer Guzman Newsday
    25
    "Battleship" employs the same nonintelligent strategy as the Hasbro board game: Fire blindly at broad targets and wait for explosions.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Austin Kennedy Sin Magazine
    63
    I didn't come to a movie called BATTLESHIP to see a bunch of crap that I could've watched on 90210. I want to see explosions and aliens and what-not!
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Chris Hewitt (St. Paul) St. Paul Pioneer Press
    63
    It's the sort of movie every summer needs. And stick around for a fun post-credits sequence that hints at a sequel.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Mark Dujsik Mark Reviews Movies
    38
    A distended and entirely generic movie about a trio of Navy ships (and, if one is generous, the people onboard) that are the last line of defense when aliens invade Earth.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Joe Williams St. Louis Post-Dispatch
    50
    Some guilty-pleasure cheese atop a ration of stale popcorn can't cleanse the distastefulness that "Battleship" leaves in its wake.
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Dustin Putman DustinPutman.com
    50
    One ethnic stereotype, two objectifying shots of the supermodel-ready female form, and three set-pieces of choppy, ADD-massaging quick edits away from being titled "Transformers 4."
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Peter Sobczynski eFilmCritic.com
    20
    It may leave you screaming "Turn it off!" or, at the very least, "Jumanji!"
    Full Review » 2 years ago