'Are We Done Yet?' Critic Reviews

10%
MovieWeb:   0 reviews
8%
Rotten Tomatoes:   95 reviews
  • Gregory Kirschling Entertainment Weekly (Top Critic)
    17
    Atrocious.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Jeannette Catsoulis New York Times (Top Critic)
    50
    The rapper Ice Cube returns to the multiplex with Are We Done Yet? a feeble fable of better parenting through home improvement.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Peter Bradshaw Guardian [UK] (Top Critic)
    20
    As unfortunate titles for cynically commercial sequels go, this one's a doozy
    Full Review » 7 years ago
  • Claudia Puig USA Today (Top Critic)
    38
    If only someone had thought to fix the script.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Ann Hornaday Washington Post (Top Critic)
    Following up on his execrable 2005 semi-hit Are We There Yet?, Ice Cube once again turns the world off with a scowl in Are We Done Yet?
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Wesley Morris Boston Globe (Top Critic)
    38
    The problem with the new film is that Ice Cube is too cool for the plot's nonsense. The faulty house and McGinley's behavior never inspire him to blow his top.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News (Top Critic)
    50
    Carr tries to put one over on us by tacking on a sentimental ending. But as any homeowner could have told him, you can't disguise a weak foundation with a cheap finish.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Amy Biancolli Houston Chronicle (Top Critic)
    63
    Are We Done Yet? isn't much more than a middling middle-class fantasy, but it has a few sweet admonitions nestled amid the tomfoolery.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Bob Strauss Dallas Morning News (Top Critic)
    25
    An acknowledged remake of the old Cary Grant movie Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House. As far as I could tell, that's because everyone involved was inspired by the syllable "Bland" in the title.
    Full Review » 7 years ago
  • Teresa Budasi Chicago Sun-Times (Top Critic)
    25
    'I can fix that,' Nick says each time a new problem arises in the house. How are we supposed to believe that when the filmmakers couldn't fix this poorly constructed sequel from its prefab origins?
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune (Top Critic)
    38
    Calling a sequel Are We Done Yet? is like calling it Enough Already.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • J. R. Jones Chicago Reader (Top Critic)
    Director Steve Carr continues his streak of numbingly mediocre family comedies.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Colin Covert Minneapolis Star Tribune (Top Critic)
    25
    Mediocre from foundation to roof, this sequel to 2005's tepid road trip farce Are We There Yet? is the movie equivalent of a tear-down.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Randy Cordova Arizona Republic (Top Critic)
    20
    This is the kind of movie that gives family films a bad name.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • John Anderson Variety (Top Critic)
    The kids come off like little spokesmodels, or aliens, and if not for Long's implausibly patient but good-natured Suzanne, there wouldn't be a recognizably human character in the film.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Lou Lumenick New York Post (Top Critic)
    50
    If you've seen the brilliantly edited trailer, you've seen just about every single laugh in the movie.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel (Top Critic)
    40
    Are We Done Yet? isn't funny or original enough to recommend. But it's amusing to watch Ice play straight-man to McGinley's perky, needy, too-helpful Chuck.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Geoff Pevere Toronto Star (Top Critic)
    25
    Are We Done Yet? may be remarkable only for the fact that its star was ever once actually considered a threat to civic stability. If movies came any safer than this, they'd be given honourary police citations for keeping the peace.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Stephen Cole Globe and Mail (Top Critic)
    25
    Careers are funny, unpredictable things, and Ice Cube wouldn't be the first charismatic, threatening entertainer to don a chastity belt for a safe ride in Hollywood. Think Elvis Presley or Eddie Murphy.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Michael Rechtshaffen Hollywood Reporter (Top Critic)
    This fixer-upper family comedy is still a notable improvement over the previous Ice Cube outing.
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Sam Adams Los Angeles Times (Top Critic)
    40
    Although Ice Cube is still happy to haul out his old snarl when it serves his purposes, he's clearly trying to reinvent himself as a family entertainer. But the milder he gets, the less confident he seems. What's a reformed gangsta rapper to do?
    Full Review » 8 years ago
  • Brent Simon Shared Darkness
    Full Review » 2 years ago
  • Sandie Angulo Chen Common Sense Media
    40
    Ice Cube's do-it-yourself sequel is too formulaic.
    Full Review » 7 years ago
  • Christopher Smith Bangor Daily News (Maine)
    17
    We're finished.
    Full Review » 7 years ago
  • Christopher Null Filmcritic.com
    40
    passable but far from inspired
    Full Review » 7 years ago