'2012' Critic Reviews

77%
MovieWeb:   36 reviews
39%
Rotten Tomatoes:   240 reviews
  • Julian Roman MovieWeb (Top Critic)
    60
    Like watching a Mexican soap opera with bad ass special effects.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Lisa Schwarzbaum Entertainment Weekly (Top Critic)
    67
    Cusack, with his one-of-the-guys face and his nice way with child actors, does creditable work as an Average American Dad trying to put things right.
    Full Review » 3 years ago
  • Manohla Dargis New York Times (Top Critic)
    40
    Despite the frenetic action scenes, the movie sags, done in by multiple story lines that undercut one another and by the heaviness of its conceit.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Claudia Puig USA Today (Top Critic)
    50
    The movie is an undeniable visual spectacle, but just as unequivocally a cheesy, ridiculous story.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Dan Kois Washington Post (Top Critic)
    100
    The crowning achievement in Emmerich's long, profitable career as a destroyer of worlds.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Ty Burr Boston Globe (Top Critic)
    50
    A state-of-the-art multiplex three-ring circus whose special effects stagger the senses and play like a video game, whose human drama aims for the cosmic and lands waist-deep in the Big Silly.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Robert Wilonsky Village Voice (Top Critic)
    The two-hour-and-40-minute 2012 is overstuffed with special-effects, but the Curtis clan's mad dash out of town is the closest the movie gets to actually being fun.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News (Top Critic)
    50
    I could fairly describe the 2012 plot as follows: The highest-paid members of an indifferent cast survive the massive floods and giant fireballs that cause our planet's destruction.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal (Top Critic)
    This oafish epic about the End of Days -- as predicted by the Mayan calendar -- operates in a dead zone roughly equidistant between parody and idiocy.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Tom Maurstad Dallas Morning News (Top Critic)
    40
    If the viewer were ever invited to think or feel about what's happening on-screen, the movie's wow-whoa-ain't-it-cool momentum would collapse in a heap of horrific preposterousness.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • James Rocchi MSN Movies (Top Critic)
    60
    (Many) will decry "2012" as a plotless, illogical, cliched, demented popcorn flick (because it is), but this is that rare case where the apocalypse, at least in terms of big-budget blown-up spectacle movie-making, is hardly the end of the world.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Anthony Lane New Yorker (Top Critic)
    2012 is so long, and its special effects are at once so outrageous and so thunderously predictable, that by the time I lurched from the theatre I felt that three years had actually passed and that the apocalypse was due any second.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times (Top Critic)
    88
    This is fun. 2012 delivers what it promises, and since no sentient being will buy a ticket expecting anything else, it will be, for its audiences, one of the most satisfactory films of the year.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune (Top Critic)
    75
    I quite enjoyed the experience, at least the first five or six hours of it. 2012 is not simply the last disaster movie you ever need to see. It's the last movie you ever need to see.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Cliff Doerksen Chicago Reader (Top Critic)
    As you might expect with director Roland Emmerich, the movie isn't a patch on the trailer.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer (Top Critic)
    63
    I found myself reaching for a phantom video-game controller to help Our Heroes and Heroine defy certain death.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Colin Covert Minneapolis Star Tribune (Top Critic)
    75
    Films of this sort are plotted shish kebab style: disaster, change of scenery, new disaster. But on the level of spectacle, 2012 is top-notch.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Tom Long Detroit News (Top Critic)
    42
    This is fear-mongering, sentimental, horror show shtick, but it's also fairly competent, making 2012 a work of awful efficiency
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Bill Goodykoontz Arizona Republic (Top Critic)
    30
    It's the end of the world as we know it, and I feel...like I have a headache.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Sara Vilkomerson New York Observer (Top Critic)
    2012 is reminiscent of yesteryear '80s shlock-tastic blockbusters -- total popcorn entertainment with ridiculous dialogue and impossible situations and special effects that will boggle the brain for a good two-plus hours.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Todd McCarthy Variety (Top Critic)
    On any level other than as sheer visual sensation, 2012 is a joke, for the simple reason that it has no point of view.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Lou Lumenick New York Post (Top Critic)
    75
    Only a movie critic without a sense of humor would question whether you could really drive a limo straight through a collapsing skyscraper...or whether the Dalai Lama really owns a pickup truck.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel (Top Critic)
    63
    Are we meant to applaud when skyscrapers topple and ships capsize, with tiny digital faceless bodies plummeting into the void? You make the disaster this real and it's not entertaining or chilling.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Linda Barnard Toronto Star (Top Critic)
    25
    Perhaps writer-director Roland Emmerich was hoping for a so-bad-it's-good cult status with his latest disaster flick.
    Full Review » 5 years ago
  • Laremy Legel Film.com (Top Critic)
    59
    2012 is the rare case of a bad film that I'm nevertheless obliged to recommend you see.
    Full Review » 3 years ago