'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows' Book Review!

J.K. Rowling's boy wizard comes to a mythical and epic finale
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Review
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Review
Millions of fans worldwide lined up at the stroke of midnight to get their hands on Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the final installment in author J.K. Rowling's magnus opus of a boy wizard's epic fight against the evil Lord Voldemort. I am pleased to report that the hype was well deserved. The Deathly Hallows is a grand finale. It is a fitting conclusion, filled with darkness and triumph, that will have Potter fans rejoicing. Rowling's narrative is spellbinding, every page seamlessly flowing into the next. She skillfully takes ten years and seven novels to a climax worthy of literary greatness.

The Deathly Hallows begins with Lord Voldemort and his Death Eaters firmly in control. The Ministry of Magic has fallen and The Order of the Phoenix, those loyal to the deceased Albus Dumbledore, face death at every turn. Harry, Ron, and Hermione are running for their lives. Severus Snape has been instituted as Headmaster of Hogwarts by the new Voldemort regime. It is a dark and hopeless time in the wizarding world.

Harry knows that he must find and destroy the seven hidden pieces of Voldemort's soul, horcruxes, but struggles to decipher the mysterious clues left behind by Dumbledore. Even more disturbing are revelations that Dumbledore himself once practiced dark magic. And that he had a family that was undone by his tragic actions. The weight of the war takes its toll and despair begins to creep into Harry's psyche. But the battle is not his alone. Harry is surrounded by loyalty. Hermione, whose cunning and brilliance has always been extolled, proves that she is the greatest witch of her day. Ron, and the entire Weasley family, are courageous to the end. They help Harry to discover Dumbledore's greatest secret, the awesome power of The Deathly Hallows, three magical objects that can conquer death itself.

The question every fan has been asking is which characters die. They won't be disappointed, because there is death in spades. Many characters die and some of them not well. They are tortured, maimed, and killed in a variety of disturbing ways. Rowling does not retreat from the horrors of evil. Voldemort is Satan incarnate here, a monster with capability and drive. This is the battle of good versus evil that fans have been waiting to see.

The Deathly Hallows is packed to the brim with action. There are chases, spectacular wizarding duels, and all-out battle scenes that I'm sure has Warner Brothers moist in anticipation of the film. But to J.K. Rowling's continued credit, none of it is overdone or unnecessary. The characters are fighting a long and brutal war. There are battles to be won and tragedies to be had. Such is the nature of war, which she never trivializes. Every loss is felt and has meaning in the context of the story.

Rowling also gets top marks for her superb character development. This is not the Harry, Ron, and Hermione from The Sorcerer's Stone. I love that they are mature. The characters handle the deadly issues they face with realistic emotional responses. There's no contrivances or melodrama here. I believe this is J.K. Rowling's greatest strength as a writer. She's highly imaginative, but her skill in writing dialogue and building tension is amongst the best writers of all time. She can take great pride in writing not one, but seven masterful works of fiction.

I'm too close to having read the book to judge it against the others in the series. It's a stellar conclusion to an incredible body of work. Fan reaction will be gushing, as it almost always is, but I think the critics will like this one as well. At the end of the day it's a fantastic read and that's all that you want in a great book.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 1 was released November 19th, 2010 and stars Bill Nighy, Emma Watson, Richard Griffiths, Harry Melling, Daniel Radcliffe, Julie Walters, Bonnie Wright, Rupert Grint. The film is directed by David Yates.



Sources: Julian Roman

Share this story yet?

0 0 0 0 0

RELATED STORIES

BEST OF THE WEB

Comments (18)

  1. Marjhon

    all the goood supporters of the harry potter thanks co'z ur still stick wit it

    5 years agoby @marjhonFlag

  2. Marjhon

    for those people who can't appreciate J.K. Rowling's novel you should review her novel and im sure you'll appreciate her novel.......bye love you daniel radcliffe and im thankful for miss J,K Rowling co'z she did a great job hehe

    5 years agoby @marjhonFlag

  3. hpmania

    For those of you who think J.K. Rowlings can't write I would sugsest you take a look at all of her book reviews and the massive response to Harry Potter. Only someone who has surpassed her in skill and sales has any right to say she can't write. And I would be willing to bet that none of the ones throwing insults at her writing has come even somewhat close. If her literary skills were so bad millions of people, adult and children alike, would not be so enraptured with her novels.She has created an incredible magical world that ranks right up there with classics such as Wizard of Oz and Merlin and other classic magical stories that have been around for decades. As for the *sshole that goes by FenrisWolf, it takes real nerve to be a faceless idiot that can sit behind a computer and give such a sh*tty review on a book that quite frankly was the best of a series that was fantastic and inventive. You are obviously not that intelligent or you would have realize that by making such negative comments about a series as popular and well loved as Harry Potter you would be attacked. You have insulted millions of readers who obviously have more imagination and intelligence than you would no what to do with. I would suggest your time would be better spent watching television since you obviously aren't intelligent enough to know good writing when you see it. So do all of us a favor a get lost.

    6 years agoby @hpmaniaFlag

  4. T.Clark

    First of all: WHY THE F*CK IS A BOOK REVIEW ON A MOVIE WEBSITE!!!!!

    6 years agoby @insertusernamehereFlag

  5. kickass

    for all of the below. you are so sad and need to get a life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! for the record : the book sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 years agoby @kickassFlag

  6. potterholic23

    Ok, I dont know who "FenrisWolf" is but I quite agree with "nerakana" that you missed the point. So instead of being an ass, and complaining about the book,shut up and keep your wrong opinions to yourself. No one wants to hear a critic who doesnt even understand what they are reading. Anyone would come to that same conclusion about any book if they sat down and started reading it with an attitude like yours. I mean why bother with it if you think it is beneath you. If you are so ready to take a shot at J.K. Rowling about her writing, be ready for people to tell you off. If you are SOOO much smarter why are you attacking her on her writing literacy?Why are you wasting time sitting on a computer critiquing J.K.Rowling, when you could be writing a twice as successful series? I'm sure YOU (who is such a writing genius) could write a book that could sell 8.4 million copies in 1 day.
    You insult every Harry Potter fan when you insult the writing abilities of J.K. Rowling. Millions of people wouldn't read them if they were so bad. Do not insult our intellegence by suggesting we would read poorly written books and be to stupid to realize ourselves there were mistakes. And even if there were, Stop being so technical and pay attention to the story you just read (which was awesome , by the way). If all you can get out of a Harry Potter book is ideas like yours, dont bother reading them, leave them to people who have imaginations.

    7 years agoby @potterholic23Flag

  7. SMRTALEC

    I finally finished the book a couple of nights ago and it finally sunk in. In my opinion it is the best book in the series! I loved every bit of it! It was the most emotional/dramatic/action-packed/mature/epic novel of them all. Jo is a genius and I applaud her. The book had such a happy ending! The Battle of Hogwarts and face off with Voldemort had me in awe. It was absolutely brilliant. Jo could not have finished Harry Potter's tale any better. Again, the book was amazing and I loved everything about it! ahahaha I could pretty much die now! :D

    7 years agoby @smrtalecFlag

  8. jkg_03

    I just finished the book last night. It is the perfect read for anyone, trust me, your nose will be glued to the pages. Harry, Ron and Hermione have become very mature since we were first introduced to them in the first book. The best part about this book is that it puts every piece of the puzzle together. Lives were lost, and as a Harry Potter fan, you will feel the loss, but in the end there is victory. From start to finsh is amazing. Take a bow J.K. Rowling, you've outdone yourself.

    7 years agoby @jkg-03Flag

  9. nerakana

    For the guy below youre such a dick... first of all Molly had all right to call Bellatrix a bitch I mean she deserved it more than anyone, second Ron doesnt speaks parseltongue he is just immitating, he is jealous because he truly loves Hermione and for this I must say youve never felt love because if not you would understand it, wielder of swords?? I mean he only destroyed 1 horcrux and for the defender of House Elves come on! he only starts to understand poor Kreacher, thirdly Dumbledore and Snape were never abusers... Snape hated Harry only because he looks as James but he actually helped him a lot and Dumbledure was the one that understood him and explained Harry everything and really loved him, and finnaly wouldnt you be very disappointed if the only purpose and mistery of the 7th book was the Horcruxes would be actually lame??... you really missed the point of the book completely.

    7 years agoby @nerakanaFlag

  10. FenrisWolf

    I don't know what you've been smoking, but for Ghu's sake get rid of it before you review another book. Deathly Hallows was a textbook example of sloppy writing and careless editing, relying far too much on exposition than on action (characters telling us what happened as opposed to letting us see it happen), too many plot holes were patched up with Deus ex Machina (items or people demonstrating previously unknown talents or powers without any foundation) starting with the so-called 'Deathly Hallows' themselves.

    Then there's the changes in the characters. From Hermione turning into the Happy Housewife washing Ron's underwear(!) to Molly's stint channeling Ripley "Get away fron her you b*tch!", their personalities alter without rhyme or reason, and none moreso than Ron. From bumbling, jealous sidekick he suddenly turns into Ivanhoe, wielder of swords, rescuer of maidens, spekar of parseltongue, and defender of House Elves.

    As for the Epilogue, a more diabetes-inducing piece of sugary pap has rarely been crafted. Bad enough that the social ills that developed over hundreds of years vanished over night, but Harry proves to be so brainwashed by the treatment he received over the years that he actually names one of his sons after his two worst abusers, sticking the poor kid with the monicker 'Albus Severus'.

    JKR created a marvelous world and a story filled with mythic potential. Unfortunately for all of us she lacks the literary skills to pull it off.

    7 years agoby @fenriswolfFlag

  11. lindsay123

    i've been sticking with all the books and i loved them...i've been waiting for the last book so badly...
    "harry potter and the deadly hallows" book exceeds my expectations ...it's fantastic..i recomend it to everyone, if u wanna scape from reality that's ur best option.
    ciao
    lin

    7 years agoby @lindsay123Flag

  12. mbola

    A classic ending to a great tale. Arguably the best book in the series and in my opinion the most intelligent! A standing ovation to J.K. Rowling

    7 years agoby @mbolaFlag

  13. balasooriya077

    Best book ever!
    Thanks Jo!!!

    7 years agoby @balasooriya077Flag

  14. Magearc

    hey Golbourn ever read the books the movies suck they dont even match the books

    7 years agoby @magearcFlag

  15. Lewi3

    Im not realy a fan of Harry Potter and his adventures neither of the movies,BUT if i see a copy of of a new harry potter film or a one I havent seen ill prob rent it.

    7 years agoby @bondage123Flag

  16. golbourn

    looooool dis guy down herz a jker na iv just seen harry potter 5 itz amazin and the fight at the endz smashes star worz fightz

    7 years agoby @golbournFlag

  17. Magearc

    Burbage dies on pg. 12
    Hedwig dies on pg. 56
    Mad-Eye dies on pg. 78
    Scrimgeour dies on pg. 159
    Wormtail dies on pg. 471
    Dobby dies on pg. 476
    Snape dies on pg. 658
    Fred Weasley dies on pg. 637
    Harry gets f*cked up by Voldemort on pg. 704 but comes back to life on pg. 724
    Tonks, Lupin, and Colin Creevy have their deaths confirmed on pg. 743

    19 years after the events in the book:

    Ron has married Hermione, their two children are named Rose and Hugo

    Harry has married Ginny, their three children are named Lily, James, and Albus severus.

    Draco Malfoy has a son named Scorpius.

    The epilogue shows all of the children boarding the train for Hogwarts together.

    The final lines of the book are: "The scar had not pained Harry for 18 years. All was well."

    Plot Spoilers

    Part of Voldemort's soul was implanted into Harry whenever he used Ara Kadvara on him when he was a baby. Harry then sacrifices himself a la Lilly Potter style, which allows him to kill Voldemort without killing himself. He brings himself back to life using a wand and a rock.
    Snape went to the good side (Hogwarts, etc.) because he was all emo that Voldemort killed Lilly Potter.

    Stumble It! &#8226 Twit This! &#8226 Fark It &#8226 Share on Facebook &#8226 Save to del.icio.us

    7 years agoby @magearcFlag

  18. ferme2u2

    well I have to agree taht this book is very dark indeed.. Lord Voldermort uprises in a way never seen before and teh whole wizarding community is in constant fear and running to survive...

    Death is seen as never before and yet the main characters have matured enough to deal with everything in a different way.

    voldermort is satan in a way and so the deaths are done cruelly...

    I truly cannot wait to see the final movie made and doen for it will have to be the best to come out in theaters after the last movies ....

    7 years agoby @ferme2u2Flag